- Galvin La ChapelleSpitalfields, The City of London
- What’s On
- Private Dining
Michelin French Restaurant Vegan Friendly Wines
Our Head Sommelier Stephen Nisbet has marked the Vegan friendly wines on our wine list.
But what is a Vegan Friendly Wine?
The use of animal-derived substances used in the making of wine is not often thought of, even by the ever increasing number of people making the ethical and dietary decision to exclude them.
The following ingredients have been traditionally used in winemaking for a very long time and have in common that they can be used without imparting unwanted flavor or colour taint.
Isinglass (boiled fish bladders)
Their use is almost entirely limited to act as a filter to remove other organic particles that would affect flavor, texture, colour & appearance.
These days more and more producers are choosing mineral and plant based alternatives including bentonite clay, silica gel, and plant proteins.